Why That Negative Situation May Be A Blessing In Disguise

YESTERDAY, MY HUBBY WAS ON THE PHONE WITH HIS FATHER AND HAD HIM ON SPEAKER PHONE.

Somehow, they got into a conversation about how to raise my son.

His father kept saying something along the lines of, your son could be great, you have to teach him, you have to read to him, you have to show him how to learn, listen to me – I am teaching you all how to raise your kid kind of vibe.

For some reason I was taking everything that he said very personal. We do all of those things and more, and my hubby’s father assuming that we didn’t, really bothered me.

On top of that, he had a really stern tone, and was saying all those things as if we weren’t raising our child right.

It started to get under my skin, so I walked away for a moment and I thought to myself, why am I attracting this kind of situation? Why am I attracting a phone call where it seems as if his father is downing our parenting skills?

I shrugged my shoulders and forgot about it for the night. But today, while I was in the shower, the thought came back to me.

WHY HAD I ATTRACTED SUCH A NEGATIVE CONVERSATION?

Another thought occurred to me right after that.

Where did I recently feel like I wasn’t a good mother or a fit parent?

You see, I can tell when negativity shows up, that I must have been thinking something along those same lines.

So when the question above came up, I just smiled to myself and said, ohhhhhhh I was thinking that.

A FEW DAYS BEFORE THE INCIDENT, I HAD GOTTEN REALLY UPSET WITH MY TODDLER, AND I YELLED AT HIM.

Obviously, I felt like shit because I had gone a little over board and didn’t control my anger.

Anyway, after I yelled at him, I started crying because I was so frustrated with myself.

I started saying things like, I can’t do this. I’m not built for this mom thing. I am losing my patience. I can’t manage this. I felt like an unfit mother.

Now those thoughts were way out of line, and I probably just needed a nap or something, but I could suddenly see where the negative situation with my hubby’s father stemmed from.

It stemmed from my thoughts and feelings about not being a good mother. So something showed up in my experience to amplify exactly what I felt.

DO YOU SEE HOW IT’S ALL CONNECTED?

If we dig a little deeper, the situation was showing me something even more profound.

It was showing me the ability I had to recognize and respond differently to the situation.

Just like I recognized that the conversation with his father was a bit off key, and I walked away. I could have done the same thing when I got frustrated with my son.

It was showing me that I have the ability to respond differently – in any situation. I don’t have to wait until a situation gets out of control or something negative shows up to beat me over the head.

IT WAS AN EXCELLENT LESSON, AND A BLESSING IN DISGUISE.

I believe that all the things that show up in our life, have something to teach us. Sometimes we miss the lesson, but I got this message loud and clear.

When a negative situation shows up in your life next time, see how the situation makes you feel, and then ask yourself, where in my life have I felt this same way lately?

With just that little bit of investigating, you’ll see where the situation stems from, and you’ll be able to do something about the root cause of it.

The root cause usually has something to do with how you feel about yourself. That situation that is appearing in front of you is just amplifying something that you are holding inside.

RECOGNIZE IT, LAUGH AT IT, AND THEN COMMEND YOURSELF FOR BRINGING IT TO YOUR AWARENESS.

We can’t change how other people act, but we can change our response to it. We can’t make other people value us, but we can remove the parts within our own self where we degrade and speak negatively towards ourselves.

{TWEETABLE} Change in your inner world leads to change in your outer world. #soulguidance

Remember that. Empower yourself. Shift what you say to yourself and how you treat yourself.

Thanks for reading.

With love,

Renee B.

Intuitive Guide


SHARE YOUR INSIGHT

Have you had a negative situation that turned out to be a blessing in disguise? If so, share your experience in the comments below.


DID YOU ENJOY THIS ARTICLE?

If so, be sure to hit like, comment, share, and subscribe.

2 thoughts on “Why That Negative Situation May Be A Blessing In Disguise

  1. Thanks for the great reminder! I attended a talk about this topic (something about us having the power and control over our reactions) and totally forgot about it. Your post really helped! have a great day!

Leave a Reply

