Confusing Spirituality With Perfection

Perfection

Quick Note: don’t forget to enter to win the Steep Your Soul Spa Gift Basket

Isn’t it true that so many of us have this unclear perception of what spirituality is?

I myself sometimes find it difficult to trust my intuition and follow my calling because I feel that I am not perfect.

Who am I to want to share my soul?

Who am I to want to offer guidance?

Who am I to declare myself a soul intuitive?

We have all these false ideas about spirituality that cause us to hide and shy away from our true potential and talent. We think that if we haven’t mastered every problem in life, then we shouldn’t put ourselves out into the world.

As if our depth of experience, wisdom, and perception obtained from the life we have already lived is somehow null and void because we haven’t mastered the whole of life.

I have news for you sweety, if you are looking to master the whole of life, you are in for a rude awakening.

The whole of life cannot be mastered – it is forever changing and we are being called to evolve and grow with it.

I think sometimes we are afraid to show our skill and gifts with the things that we do understand because we are being so quickly met by the new things that we still have yet to uncover, discover, and decipher.

Spirituality does not equal perfection.

Spirituality means bringing out the best of who you are – yes, finding ways to honor your true expression – yes, but not to be this perfect, suitable, color in the lines all the time, fixed, rigid persona. It’s not about that.

At least not the way I am learning to see it.

Yes, there are times when I tune into my intuition and I am spot on, but there are also times when I am moody, unforgiving, and just down right stubborn. That doesn’t mean that I am any less spiritual than anyone else. Those mood swings and times that you are out of alignment with your being, are just practice.

You find new ways to get yourself back into the space you need to be – to radiate who you are.

We are met with so much opposition sometimes when trying to accomplish that goal (alignment with the self). I believe that alignment with the self was meant to come easy to us, but we have made so many excuses as to why we can’t be that fully all the time. We’ve made mistakes, we’ve messed up, we’ve gotten angry, and we think those are valid reason to shy away from home (the place within where you feel completely comfortable with yourself). They are not valid reasons to shy away from home.

They are, as a matter of fact, opportunities to seek out home more.

We have to get this idea out of our heads. That we are somehow meant to be these pure, squeaky clean, angelic beings, with no blemishes on our records – that is absurd, and it’s about time that we really take a look to see where those ideas are stemming from.

Whenever something doesn’t feel right to you, you can always check in with your own heart.

This world is very large, very diverse, there are all kinds of things that you can get into. In addition to that, there are so many different kinds of influences, philosophies, and ways of life to choose from. We were not all meant to go the same way, and we did not come here to remain squeaky clean – we would have just stayed in the angelic realm if that were the case.

We are meant to however, learn to navigate our way through our emotions, our situations, and our experiences the best way that we know how. We are also meant to try and find the joy in each moment or to create it – if you can’t find it.

I don’t like this idea that I have this past karma hanging over my head, and I am living this life to somehow redeem myself from some past wrong – it just doesn’t sit right in my gut.

I am here navigating life the best way I know how. I try everyday to be a better person, correct my missteps, guide my emotions, share myself, and find my joy.

I can’t hold onto this idea that we are somehow being punished for not knowing how to do this thing we call “life” – perfectly.

Spirituality means aligning with your spirit. That’s it. In any way shape or form that you can do it. It means believing in yourself, honoring your calling, finding your own way and your own path, appreciating your life, and making strides to become the best person you can be during your time here on earth.

Discussion Questions

How about you – do you sometimes associate spirituality with being perfect?

Has it hindered your true expression in any way?

Thank you for reading!

P.S. Don’t forget to enter to win the Steep Your Soul Spa Gift Basket!!!

Steep Your Soul Giveaway

heart Nay

Photo Source Credit

5 thoughts on “Confusing Spirituality With Perfection

  1. I usually refer to it as “my spiritual practice”. It’s called practice for a reason after all. My practice revolves heavily around soul-growth and the notion that we evolve over lifetimes. Not being perfect is pretty crucial to that process. That being said, realizing I’m not perfect can leave me feeling pretty vulnerable at times. It can be uncomfortable to say the least.

    • I agree, it does get uncomfortable at times. I am interested in where we have developed the idea that we have to be perfect, squeaky clean, or have mastered life to be a spiritual person… It’s interesting that we think that way sometimes. Thank you so much for commenting!

      • I’ve been thinking about something similar. Not being perfect exactly (not sure if I’ve come across this yet) but rather the notion that we must have an answer for every mystery. To admit we don’t know is to admit our path is false or something. Been running into this. Thanks for your thought provoking post. ♡

  2. I am working as a chaplain and it is humbling to experience that people receive grace through a conversation with me. I don’t consider myself especially holy, just a spiritual seeker, a student of the Holy. Yet even I can remind people that God is present in the room and in the world.

    • I agree. We all have something within us that can light the way for another, and you don’t have to be overly spiritual to do it. A simple smile can brighten someone’s day, a kind gesture, a prayer, or just a hug. I just think that sometimes we are hard on ourselves and consider ourselves less spiritual because we are not following the path of the most popular religions or groups. We in someways devalue ourselves because we don’t seem to fit into their groups or because we aren’t living the version of “clean” that they will accept. Thank u so much for commenting. It’s greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

