Inner Work – Our Hotel Self & Finding A More Permanent Residence

The Hotel Self

The purpose of my work on this site (my writing & Soul research), is to help cultivate the feeling of home.

my work here is to also help others link with their soul and to help find new ways to keep that flow going.

Home is the place where the soul resides. Where you feel 100% comfortable with yourself, what you do, and with finding your own path through life.

Part of my work is to point out parts of our character, our beingness, and our inner selves that we don’t know exist.

I do that by coming up with different ways to view different parts of the self.

The hotel self, is the part of you that feels comfortable, in love with, and welcomed to the fullest parts of your being – only some of the time.

We treat our heartspace, our center of wellness, our inner city, or whatever you want to call it – as if it is a place that can only be accessed when we “do good”.

I pose the following questions…

Why do we reside in that space only temporarily? How do you define good and bad? And by whose standards is the good and bad in your life being compared to?

We should all be striving to find a permanent place of peace within ourselves – a sense of home.

Our hotel self however, sees glimpses of this goodness that we should have access to, and then we are right back to withholding and blocking the access to that goodness for whatever reasons.

We think that because we made decision that others don’t agree with – we don’t deserve the best of ourself. We think that because we have messed up or made a mistake in the past – we don’t deserve our consideration again.

Your soul is here to tell you,

You deserve the best of yourself at all times. No exceptions.

I remember a few months ago when I was pregnant, I received a beautiful surprise. I was invited to stay in a hotel with my husband while he tended to some business. I finally was about to get away from my routine of cooking, cleaning, and tending to my housewife duties. I remember feeling right at home when we entered the hotel room.

The room was nice and clean, beautifully furnished, and smelled like fresh linen scent. I remember having help at my finger tips (the front desk), and I could phone down to the cafeteria for anything that I wanted.

I couldn’t help but smile at myself when I passed the huge shiny mirror. I silently screamed to myself, girl you did it! You manifested a space where you can relax from your daily routine! Yes girl, you deserve it!

How long do you think those feelings of “deserving” lasted?

When I got back home from the weekend trip, I was right back to my normal state of being.

What needs to be done? How many dishes did I leave to be washed? How much can I get done, and in what period of time?

I had lost that feeling of home.

You see a part of me knows that I deserve to feel like that all of the time (pampered, catered to, help at my fingertips if I need it, beautiful, relaxed, etc). That’s why I got a glimpse of it in the form of a short trip to a beautiful hotel, but too often we (myself included – duh I said we), find any reason to hold back from our true selves.

We find every reason to justify why we don’t deserve nice things, why we don’t deserve help, or why we don’t deserve to have our desires answered at the press of a button.

How crazy is that?

This part of you that finds any excuse to deny your true self is the one hopping from hotel to hotel instead of appointing yourself as a top real estate agent, and finding yourself a permanent sense of home.

I have a few key points that can help you get on the path to cultivating a more permanent sense of home.

  • Home is a place that you can access at any time. It’s not a place where you only have access to it when you have done something good. You have the choice right now to give yourself the benefit of the the doubt, compassion, love, and care or you can withhold that from yourself because of some “wrong” you feel you have done. Becoming aware that the space is always available to you will help you connect to it more often. Once you know that something exists, you can turn in the direction of it more often.
  • There is a solution to every problem. Recognizing that will bring you right back to your center. It will bring you right back home. You have a host of angels (in human and in spirit form), that can make their way to you if you just believe that you are worthy of it. Feeling supported – is feeling at home.
  • Practice, practice, practice! So now you know that home is an inner job, you have access to it at all times, and it’s not keeping a tally of what you do that’s right or wrong. Practice visiting this space to help you come up with solutions, calm your spirit in times of trouble, feel confident, and to help you feel supported.

Home is the place where the best of you, your soul, and your goodness resides. 

Practice accessing this space more frequently by trusting your intuition, turning your negative thoughts around, taking deep breaths more frequently, and appreciating every opportunity to connect.

The more ways that you learn how to connect, the easier it is to feel at home with your true nature.

Happy Home Hunting!

Thank you so much for reading!

heart Nay

If you liked this post, don’t forget to hit like, comment, share, and subscribe.

Photo Source Credit

Leave a Reply

