Soul Research – Examining The Things You Love

Love

Soul research – I Love That term

what I am pointing towards by using the term “soul research” is the uncovering of parts of yourself that you never knew existed.

If you are wandering through life, still not sure of who you are or what your purpose is here, take a look at the things that you love.

I bet alot of you don’t know that the things you love most, are parts of who you are.

And those of you who do know that, probably never thought about it as a way to see what your true expression is in life.

Take a minute to think about all of things you find beautiful or oddly attractive. Think about your favorite holidays and activities. Think about the things you would do if you had all the time in the world.

For me, my favorite holiday is Thanksgiving.

Yes, thanksgiving – even above Christmas and New Years.

If I think about all the reasons why I love Thanksgiving, I can see that the holiday embodies my true spirit.

I think of inviting those into my home who I love the most. I think of cooking and preparing food with love. I can see the abundance spread out before me even as I think of these words to script. I love the thought of setting up an abundant meal. I love the thought of also having drinks available for people before they even realize they are thirsty.

I prepare a place for them to kick off their shoes, relax and be pampered, and make sure there is enough food left over for them to savor the next day.

My love of Thanksgiving shows my love for feeding the soul, for spreading abundance, and for nourishing others. Hence the reason why my work is geared towards inner work (work having to do with the soul).

I love big cats

In particular leopards, tigers, and black panthers.

I love their wild side. I love that they demand respect and that they cover their territory fiercely. I see that they also aren’t afraid to indulge in a good meal, and that they don’t feel the least bit bad about fending for themselves. Their spirit is wild, free, and uninhibited.

That is in essence – my truest expression.

Protecting my dreams, being a guardian to my loved ones, providing for my family, and the thrill of the hunt (seeking, finding, and then indulging).

I love lilies

I took a quiz one time just for the heck of it. The quiz was named – What Kind Of Flower Are You? I didn’t even really need to take the quiz. I already knew what the answer was because I am so drawn to lilies. Anyway, I took the quiz and the answer was (surprise surprise) – LILY.

It’s something about their subtleness and their beautiful scent. They don’t even have to be striking in color or heavily scented to get recognition. They kind of just own their space, and call you towards them. Although there are some lilies that are flamboyant and multicolored, I prefer the lilies that are white with little pink spots (they remind me of beauty marks).

Lilies too, remind me of my true nature. Not too outspoken or boisterous. Not screaming out for attention. Just kind of playing my music and scent softly in the background and drawing people towards it.

you can discover alot by examining what you love

I bet alot of the gamers out there don’t even realize that their love for gaming stems from a broader knowing. There is something about the idea of virtual reality that draws them to gaming. The idea of making something out of nothing or of bringing the seemingly impossible to life. The gamers out there are visionaries. They have minds that can bring the unseen into existence. The gamers sense that things should be as easy as plugging in a few codes, and getting anything that you want. There is a part of them that knows that nothing is impossible – the good, the bad, and even the ugly.

Follow your bliss {Joseph Campbell Quote}

I know almost all of you have heard this quote, but how many of us actually take this quote seriously. We think sometimes that it’s some airy fairy concept, but it is truly what will help you discover who you are.

Like I said, we don’t even realize that the things we love the most are parts of who we are, and by examining those things we love, we find out our true nature, we find out our soul’s expression, we find out the purpose of why we are here.

So many of us walk around lost because we are searching for our souls. Our souls are not lost. It’s the discovery of who we are that we are really looking for. Not finding ourselves – like we are out there lost some where. It’s not about that. It’s about extracting the parts of yourself that are beautiful and that are a treasure for the world.

I did not and do not make New Year’s resolutions

What I did promise myself however, was that I would follow my bliss (even if only for a couple of days a month). I started to make a list of the things that I really wanted to do, the places I really wanted to go, and put my energy towards things that I really enjoyed.

One of the things on my list was visiting the library. Now, I am a writer – so it is baffling (to even me) that before last month, I had not signed up for the public library in my town. Blank stare – I know right.  I had visited every bookstore in my area, but had never signed up for the public library.

To make a long story short, I signed up, and felt right at home.

I went in looking for the book “The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron.

The book wasn’t there, but the resource desk led me to a section where other books in that genre were. As soon as I went to the section I was drawn to a book, and when I plucked it off the shelf, would you believe, that it was another one of Julia Cameron’s books – The Vein Of Gold. I chose that book and went about all of my other selections in the same way (following my intuition).

When I got home, I couldn’t wait to sink my teeth into them.

The books were so inspiring that I started to feel my real connection to my writing. I started to recognize that my real work had to do with “Soul Work”. Not altering or changing the soul, but working to help others uncover their true soul. I changed my direction, found my niche, and have been willingly opening to the flow of its resources every since.

My work is soul work

And I discovered that by following my bliss.

I love how the path lights up along the way. You know without a doubt that you are on the right path sometimes because things just click into place. You know because it wakes you up in the middle of the night. You know because before you can even blink, you read an article that confirms all the stuff you were just pondering. I love moments like those.

All of this happened in a relatively short amount of time, and with just a couple of intentions (to follow my bliss and to to pay attention to what I really loved and desired for my life).

Inspiration only needs two things – a willing heart & peace with what is. {Renee “Soul Writer” Brooks}


Try this exercise

When you have some time, write down 10 odd things that you love.

Leave some space so that you can write out why you love those 10 things.

See if you can see any connections to your true nature. Examining these things may show you the direction you need to take in your art or in your business. It may help you discover what comes naturally to you. You may even get some ideas of a product or a service to create. There is no end to self-discovery. It’s alot of fun once you start to uncover all the beautiful things about yourself that you may not have ever noticed existed.

Thank you so much for reading!

Happy Soul Researching!

heart Nay

Has this post inspired you? Have you practiced the technique and discovered something new about yourself? If so, be sure to share your experience and your thoughts in the comments. You can also hit like, share, and subscribe if you enjoyed this post.

Photo Source Credit

Leave a Reply

