Your Inner Child a.k.a. Your Creative Self

Inner Child

Dreams Are An Excellent Gateway To Understanding The Self

Last night I had a dream that had to do with my creative life, what fuels it, how I felt about it, and how to make it run a bit smoother. The dream inspired this post.

Some people do not realize that they have a creative part of themselves. It’s the part that wants to play, express, explore, and find fulfillment at all times. In your dreams, the creative part of yourself is usually shown as a small child. It could be your own child, a niece or nephew, or an unknown child. It’s not necessarily who the child is that’s important, it’s your feelings about that child and what positive qualities they bring out of you that you are looking for.

What Does Your Inner Child (Your Creative Self) Want?

Your inner child wants to play. It wants to dance, sing, explore, and sink its teeth into anything that it finds interesting.

Have you watched a small child play? If something peaks the child’s interest he or she doesn’t hesitate – they go – right for it – no questions asked. They don’t ask permission, they don’t think about it, they don’t hesitate, they just move in the direction of what is calling them. That is what our creative self is like.

Think of a time when you got a brilliant idea. I know that you felt good inside. I know that it lit up all the lights and warmed your soul. But too often, we get those flashes of insight from the heart and we thwart our plans to enjoy them with doubt, fear, and resistance, and then wonder why our creative life or business is not flourishing in the way that we would like it to.

Where Does Your Inner Child Come From?

I want you to take a minute and look at a very clear sign of where your inner child comes from. When a child comes into this world we call it a “bundle of joy”, your “heart and soul”, and your “pride and joy”. These are all clear indicators that your inner child (your creative self) comes from the heart. It comes from a place within that knows the things that will fulfill you. It comes from the place inside that knows what you do well. It comes from the place inside that knows which way is best for it to express itself.

The term pride and joy is fairly simple to understand. Pride being the feelings of feeling good, confident, in your own and proud of yourself, and your joy being the feelings of happiness, contentment, and fulfillment. That is what your inner child seeks at all times.

It’s quite the rascal and that little bugger won’t keep quiet.

Have you seen a child that finally finds his or her faaaaaavorite thing? You and an army of 1000 people could not get that “favorite thing” away from that child if you tried. It’s the same way with us when we find our passion. No matter how many times you tell it, “shut up I’m busy”, “go away”, “I can’t have you”, or “you’re against the rules” – it will keep coming back over and over and over again.

A child that has found its favorite thing will sleep with it, have lunch and dinner with it, bathe with it, go for walks with it, take it to school, and every other place that he or she goes.

That essentially, is what your heart is asking you to do when you have found your passion, but too often we feel like “responsible adults” that can’t “do what we love”.

If only we realized that doing what you love is the key to life – we would live much happier and fulfilling lives. All the other stuff is just a distraction.

Your Job As A Parent To Your Inner Child (Your Creative Self)

Have you ever seen a child do something that they are inspired to do and get yelled at by a parent? What happens? They freeze, they can’t move, and they are afraid to make moves towards things they desire from that point forward. They are taught by that anger that it’s not okay to move in the direction of something that they want. That will “get me in trouble”. This is what happens when we deny our true creative selves from surfacing – especially when it’s done from a stand point of anger, judgment, or scolding. We freeze anytime we get ready to create. We fear that we are going to make a mistake. We fear that we are not doing the right thing. All kinds of negative things run through our minds and this kills our creative self.

Your job as the parent of your creative self is to let the child breathe. You have seen the smile on a child’s face when he or she has found what they are looking for. It warms your heart. When you let the children run, play, and mess stuff up a bit, it slowly peels away the frustration, depression, and the “I’m not getting it right” syndrome. Your job is to let your inner child play. To give yourself permission to explore without judgment or condemnation.

You also need to realize that you are equipped for the job of handling this young energy. Just like you would never let anything harmful happen to your real children or the children you care about – you can think of handling your creative life the same way. If you are drawn to something – it is because your heart wants you to explore it. It knows the potential for you to feel joy and fulfillment which essentially, is what life is all about. You are not going to do anything to endanger yourself. The goal is to trust yourself and be free.

What You’ll Get In Return

Fulfillment. You won’t wake up everyday hating to go to work – because you will have found what you love to do. You won’t dread coming up with new ideas – because they will come to you naturally. You won’t fear the future – because you’ll know that no matter where your particular skill leads you, you’ll have everything that you need inside. You will have taught yourself how to hone in on your creative gifts, to let them run free, to encourage them from a place of love, and you’ll know that it’s what helps you breathe and is your reason for living.

What My Dream Taught Me Personally

I learned that when it comes to my creative freedom I am scared. I am scared to make a mistake, scared to get it wrong, scared to even try, out of fear of failure. But you cannot fail. The point of expressing yourself creatively is for the joy that it brings you, for you to connect with your natural flow, and for you then to see the results of “all of that” play out in a way that is most favorable to you. It’s the play of life, and we feel empty without it.

In my dream, my significant other, my 5 month old son (inner child), and I were on a motorcycle (my symbol for creative freedom and independence) looking for a gas station (a way to fuel my creativity). I wanted my partner to slow down some because he was making some daring moves when making the turn arounds on the highway. it’s not that I didn’t want to be on the ride and it’s not that I didn’t want my child with me. I just wanted him to slow down – which means savor the moments, take a little bit of time, don’t feel rushed or panicked, don’t feel like it’s something you have to do. All of these things that I have learned are the little nuggets of silver that I would like to share with you.

I say nuggets of silver because they are more my style than nuggets of gold. I think of silver as the color of intuition, my true self, and insight.

I Have Found My Direction

I love to explore, be nosy, find out things, and get answers to things. It’s the very thing that I use to do when I was younger that was NOT encouraged in my household, but I still loved to do it. I loved to pry through people’s things, find secrets, and uncover things. Now that I am an adult, I know that I am well within my rights to do this digging and probing, but sometimes my childhood conditioning doesn’t allow me to do so – so freely. I am taking this moment to declare this my new path. I will continue to explore self-discovery through decoding my dreams, and I will also continue to share the glimmers of silver that I find, with you all.

Thank you for reading!

P.S. If you want more information on understanding the meaning of your dreams, head on over to my Soul Guidance Dreams website and check it out.

If you liked the post, don’t forget to hit like, share, comment, and subscribe!

finished-heart Nay

Photo Source Credit

Leave a Reply

