Truth Be Told Tuesday

Truth Be Told Tuesday

I have to come clean.

I’m afraid to be naked.

And by naked I mean, totally myself without a mask.

Can you imagine nothing to cling to?

No fancy job status, no bling, no degree, and no one high-fiving me for a promotion like people receive at work.

No make-up to hide behind, no false lashes, no big bank to show how financially secure I am.

I’m afraid to say that I am open to all philosophies, and that I am also open to see where life takes me. Have you seen how they treat people who don’t believe in the “guy sitting in the sky” judging everyone’s actions? 

Let me be clear – I do believe in God. I just don’t believe that it’s a man sitting in the sky judging every thing that I do.

They call people like me “woo-woo” and “new age”. They seem to think the worse about people who welcome other philosophies when in reality, I’m just embracing other ways to understand the world that I live in.

I’m afraid to say that I’m a homebody. Have you seen the way that they treat people that aren’t “turning up” and going to the club every other day?

I’m afraid to say that I cry almost everyday – because people seem to equate tears with weakness.

I’m afraid to say that I do not have it all figured out. Because somehow, not having it all figured out means that you are irresponsible, lazy, and unmotivated.

I’m afraid to say that I don’t really like people. Let me be clear – I don’t like the baggage that people bring along with them. You know, their judgements, nasty looks, and unedited opinions. Their pointing and snickering when you make a mistake or when your life is not perfect. Those are the things that I don’t like about people. I would rather spend a day at home with my pet than with a bunch of phony people – any day.

I’m afraid to say that I feel worthless without my job. Have you seen the way that they treat people who are unemployed? As if I am sitting at home, eating snacks, watching soap operas all day, and milking the welfare system. I must say… I am not any of that.

It’s funny how some people (myself included) can’t see the value in just raising a child. Raising a child is work enough. Some people don’t realize that tending to the house, making sure there’s hot food on the table, and making sure everyone has clean clothes is a job of nurturing that no one ever gets paid for. But it is a job that is certainly relevant to the well-being of a family unit.

I’m afraid to say that I don’t have a college degree. Have you seen the way employers look at people who haven’t spent a significant amount of time in college? Never mind that you’re a natural at the job and a quick learner. Never mind that your skills of dedication and respect can never be taught. Nope, none of that matters.

I’m afraid to say that I’m compassionate and that I cry when I see anyone hurting. Because to admit such a thing, would mean that I’m too sensitive and that I need to toughen up. 

I am afraid to be naked. Which really means, I am afraid to be fully myself – that raw, natural, caring, barefoot kind girl that doesn’t give a damn about fancy clothes or things that don’t speak to my heart.

I’m afraid to say that I don’t have any of the things that make me useful, worthy, or relevant in society’s eyes.

I’m afraid to disclose who I really am, but even though I’m afraid… I just told you anyway. It is Truth Be Told Tuesday isn’t it?

Thanks for reading!

Do you have anything that you would like to confess for Truth Be Told Tuesday? If so, go to the top of the post and click “leave a comment” to share your story. If you prefer to post your response on your own blog, just add the words “Truth Be Told Tuesday” somewhere in your post and link back to this article.

I look forward to hearing your response.

finished-heart Nay

Leave a Reply

