Truth Be Told Tuesday

Truth Be Told Tuesday

I have to come clean.

I don’t know what the hell to write about for Truth Be Told Tuesday.

As a matter of fact, I thought about renaming the whole “Tuesday” subject altogether. If I did that however, I would seem scattered, unorganized, and inconsistent.

I mean aren’t writers supposed to have their shit together? Aren’t they supposed to know exactly what to write and when to write it? Isn’t there something specific to write about for Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays?

If I can speak honestly (that is what Truth Be told Tuesday is all about), I haven’t been that inspired to post on WordPress. I don’t like to force writing, but I don’t want to leave my platform empty either.

So what to do?

I figured I would just sit down, and let whatever wanted to come out – come out.

I don’t feel like a writer today… The very reason that people go to writing blogs is to keep up with what other “writers” or “authors” are doing. I think of people coming to my blog and asking, “where’s the content, where are the stories, where’s the setting, where are the characters, where’s the adventure?”

To which I reply, “you aren’t getting any of that from me today. I am not a storyteller, an author, or a writer today. Not the “official” kind anyway.”

I am curled up with my hot chocolate and putting all of the writing rules to the side.

What I really desire more than anything is a real connection, with real people. Let’s be real – most of the people don’t really read what’s on the blogs anyway. They skim through the content to see if anything looks interesting or fits their current needs, and if the first few words don’t grab their attention they’re off to something else.

Between facebook, twitter, homework, housework, work-work, the kids, and all the other crap that people have to do, there seems to be no time for genuine connections. God forbid you ask someone to comment on your post or to share their stories – they are so wrapped up in other things while browsing through your post that they don’t even hear your pleas for authentic connection.

I must admit – I have been guilty of that from time to time. We call it multi-tasking, but what it really is – is robbing us of the present moment. So tonight, I am not in the mood for thinking, writing things down in a perfect format, to pour my heart into another post, that no one is even going to read (entirely). So I will just say a few words here and there, in the fashion that my current mood decides to script them.

I’m frustrated with putting myself out there, being vulnerable, and opening up – without a single response from people who I know are out there feeling the same way I am.

I want to know what people desire, I want to having meaningful conversations, I want hearts that I connect with. I guess what I am trying to ask is, what makes you feel alive? Is it really writing or is it something else? Am I the only one that feels – if I don’t feel genuinely inspired – I can’t write? Does anyone else feel that way?

I am not the kind of person that wants to just throw anything out into the universe. Even as I type this, I am still trying to be considerate with the words that I choose and how I say them. Even though my mood is… well we won’t go there.  Part of the reason I am writing this post is to vent. To let the world know that I feel so uninspired. Especially when it comes to posting on here. I am tired of giving my time and attention to things that fall on deaf ears.

I am in the process of writing my new book, and the inspiration for that comes and goes. It’s actually quite nice and not that much of a headache at all, but this wordpress thing… I don’t know what to make of it.

I guess it’s okay to say exactly what I feel – as long as I am telling the truth in the process. It is Truth Be Told Tuesday.

Thank you for reading!

Do you have anything that you would like to confess for Truth Be Told Tuesday? If so, go to the top of the post and click “leave a comment” to share your story. If you prefer to post your response on your own blog, just add the words “Truth Be Told Tuesday” somewhere in your post and link back to this article.

I look forward to hearing your response.

finished-heart Nay

3 thoughts on “Truth Be Told Tuesday

  1. I don’t like force writing, but for me, I enjoy WordPress. When writing fiction, I prefer to write when I feel like it. Forcing myself can sometimes end in bad quality. I know some people who can force writing, and everything is great.

    • I agree Anthony. Forcing my writing just doesn’t feel right sometimes. I would rather just skip a couple days and then write when I feel inspired, but like I said – I don’t want to go missing for a long period of time and leave the blog empty either. I love wordpress too, it’s just yesterday for some reason I felt so uninspired to post on WordPress. I do however, love the platform and I don’t take it for granted. Thank you so much for commenting. I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

