The Makeup Of Who We Are

Image Credit: Holistic Hippy

As writers, we are constantly creating characters and giving meaning to their lives.

Do you ever wonder who wrote you?

I mean think about it. If there was a writer who sat down and envisioned your life and your story who would it be?

Why did that writer give you some of the crazy characteristics you display in your day to day life? Why do some things hit close to home while other things barely grasp your attention?

Who created you – as you are?

Did someone dream you up – like we do to the characters in our novels?

I ask these questions because they are interesting (to me at least) to ponder. I mean come on; artists are wonderers at heart. It’s our curiosity towards the world around us that helps us create.

Why do somethings matter to us more than others?

Isn’t it fascinating how many factors make up a person. Elizabeth Gilbert (the author of the NY Times Bestseller “Eat Pray Love“) brilliantly summed up all of the influences that constitute a human being. When trying to get to the root cause of her depression she asked herself was it psychological, temporal, genetic, cultural, astrological, artistic, evolutionary, karmic, hormonal, dietary, philosophical, seasonal, environmental, I mean shoot me now.

I don’t want to dig that deep into it, but I would like to know why somethings deeply sadden me while others bring me unimaginable joy. Why I love the smell of vanilla and abhor the smell of lavender. Why I’m drawn to iron gates, attracted to some with lazy eyes, and love alien like characters like “Echo” from the movie “Earth To Echo“.

Why I like my turkey sandwiches – slice of bread, 3 pieces of turkey, white american cheese, pepper, Hellman’s mayo, and other slice of bread. In That Order! Oh and I can’t forget the drink – a coca cola (in a can please). The bottled version of coke tastes different. Don’t argue with me about that. It just does.

Why I love a new book – not to read it – but sometimes just to flip through the pages. I love the feel of the pages and running my hands over the cover image.

Why the sight of any lily warms my heart or why seeing a blue jay makes me jump for joy.

Why seeing a homeless guy crushes me, seeing a woman being beaten dampens my spirit, or seeing someone harm an animal sends me into a rage.

All of those things describe me (one individual – a spec in the grand scheme of things). A very small piece – it seems, in the story we call life. But yet, a relevant piece – because I do exist.

I believe our experiences, perspectives, preferences, and nuisances shape who we are as writers. Those things about us give us our passion and our drive. They are the reasons that some us shy back from releasing horror into the world and others like Stephen King thrive on it. I think that pondering who we are can further shape the way we write and the stories we create.

There are some things about yourself that you may want to throw away and other pieces that make you a compassionate human being. Sometimes we can’t make sense of our pieces when they are spread out or when we think of them as separate things, but when we actually look a little closer we may see a theme running through each of our strange yet fascinating preferences.

Take a look at the black and white gallery below of the things that I’m drawn to and that catch my eye. Perhaps creativity will spark somewhere for you, perhaps you will enjoy my unique preferences, perhaps it will remind you of a time in your life, or perhaps it will help you see how we are all connected. I do believe we are all here for a reason – bizarre traits and all!

Do you like this post? If so, don’t forget to hit like, comment, and subscribe.

Thanks for reading!

finished-heart Nay

Leave a Reply

