Day 1: Living From The Heart

Day 1

Getting Use To This

Like any new project, idea, or beginning, things take some time getting used to. When I first started the day it felt very normal. You know the usual routine, get up – eat breakfast – wash – get dressed – etc. Everything was normal during the first half of the day. The purpose of this |||30 Day Living From The Heart||| challenge is not to change what I am doing, but how I think.

I started the day by painting and listening to music. I must say that music, especially from the genres that I enjoy the most, is very uplifting. No matter what kind of mood you are in, listening to music can lift your spirits right away.

Here are a few of the videos that I have on my music playlist.

Poetry

I even tried writing some poetry. Sometimes we can’t express what we want to say in simple terms. Perhaps we have secrets that we don’t want shared or things that we are too afraid to acknowledge. Those things stay buried inside. Eating away at you until you find a way to release them. Here is a small part of the poem that I created today. I got to write freely about something that has been bothering me for a while. Here is a small part of that poem. The poem is titled {Sweet Vanilla}.

Words cannot define how it feels to be trapped in its elusive – intrusive presence. While feeling so guilty inside. Indulge, it says. No I can’t. Its stare is penetrating and it demands… my attention, my affection, my love, and misdirection. All because of its beautiful scent. Its highly, erotically, manipulatively deceptive.

Change Of Mood

Some days I get extremely tired. The fact that I get drained is written all over my face at times. My intention for the day was to keep myself in high spirits no matter what. I was talking to someone today and they said to me,” You seem really happy. Your spirit is high.” I smiled because I deliberately wanted to be in higher spirits today and I guess it showed. His comment was confirmation that my energy shifted a bit. The only advice that I can give to people trying to sync with the flow of their true nature is to just take it one day at a time. Step by step. No more – no less.

Spiral Of Desire

I decided to write down all the things I want in my life. They say once you write it down it in some way makes things tangible. You can see it and remind yourself of what’s important to you. I decided to make two spirals. A beautiful love life and passionate work are very important to me. Here are the two spirals that I made. The purpose of this is to just get you in the flow of what you would like in your life regardless of what subject you are referring to.

Small Insight

I did receive a small flash of insight today. I read a quote today:

You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection. {Buddha}

I don’t know why that particular quote stuck out to me. I started thinking about all the times that I do my best to pamper someone else, put all my effort into making sure my books are presentable, prepare dinner to serve to others, and worry about what others will think or feel by what I say. It never dawned on me that life is just trying to show me: the same attention, love, and courtesy that you give to them – give to yourself. I don’t know why that never occurred to me. That message rang loud and clear.

We too often give others the benefit of the doubt, stress ourselves out to make other people happy, and jump hurdles to make sure that our loved ones are taken care of and not offended by what we say or do. How often do we give that same courtesy to ourselves, deliberately? It’s almost like we have to be tricked into giving love to ourselves sometimes. We have to wait until some holiday, or until we finish school, land a job, or get seen in the public eye to really appreciate ourselves. How about all that love that you show to others, you turn just a little bit back in your own direction? It was just interesting because I know that I have heard people say many times to love yourself, but for some reason that quote just stood out to me today.

In Closing

Today was okay. I made it the best that I could, and I am looking forward to tomorrow being even better. I plan on going to sleep to the soothing sounds of nature mixed with soft music. That helps me get a jump start on the next day. Good night all! Sweet dreams and blessings!

My request to the universe tonight: I would like to be a part of something exciting, meaningful, and heartwarming.

finished-heart Nay

 

Leave a Reply

