Cut Your Hair Or Face Expulsion

Vanessa Vandyke

What Is Wrong With This Picture?

Absolutely nothing! This is a beautiful young girl who is an honor student at Faith Christian Academy in Orlando, Florida. According to the Huffington Post Article, Vanessa VanDyke (shown above) was told to cut her natural hair or leave the academy.

This is not the first time that school officials have chosen “hair” to determine the validity of a young black child. Just a couple of months ago Tiana Parker, age 7 (shown below), had to switch schools because she was forbidden to wear her dreadlocks. She was told that her hairstyle wasn’t presentable for the school.

Tiana Parker

Emotional About This

Just yesterday I was scheduled to interview with a company. Back in July I shaved my hair because it was growing unevenly. I now have somewhat of a mini afro. Before I went on the interview I had to decide what to do with my hair. I am not ashamed of my mini fro, I just know that in the professional world they expect you to look a certain way. So the only other alternative was to cornrow my hair (pictures will follow). I thought about it and that’s what I decided to do.

The thing that bothers me the most is that I even had to consider altering my natural hairstyle to fit into the professional world. Even after I braided my hair, I still had some qualms about if I would be “accepted” or not.

This Is Not Just A Black Thing

There aren’t that many things that burn me up inside. When I saw the article about this little girl told to cut her hair or face expulsion I was angry. I cannot stand to see people, especially young children, being picked on or undervalued because of what they look like. I have a huge heart for diversity and freedom. I cannot stand the thought of people picking on or beating down people for their differences. It is just something that doesn’t sit right within me. So, I had to say something about it.

Bringing Awareness To This Issue

I think that what needs to be done about this is to just spread the word. Information travels fast in this day and age. I agree that some rules need to be in place to have organizations run smoothly. I have nothing against business owners, school administrators, and people in head positions having some kind of rules in place to keep their organization orderly. My only problem with the rules is that, you can’t shift and cater them against certain people. We are all ONE PEOPLE. Whether you like it or not. Get used to.

What choice does this little girl’s mother have? Tell her to cut her hair and deny who she is or yank her from that damn school? What choice are they giving her? If she makes her daughter cut her hair, she is telling her to deny who she is. If she yanks her out of the school she then has a problem with the laws that say that she has to be in school in the first place. The other solution is to just find another school that accepts her the way she is. That may just be the best way to go.

We have to be careful about what message we are sending out into the world. I can’t imagine what these two young ladies feel like inside to be told – you aren’t good enough for our establishment- because of your hair.

Words Of Encouragement

Both of these young ladies are beautiful. They should not have to change their hair to fit in. We need to stop being so concerned about what is on the outside and see what is on the inside. I am an adult who sees how difficult it is to fit into certain parts of society; no child should ever have to feel like that. It’s too much for an adult. I can only imagine what it must feel like for a child.

Be Yourself. You Are Worthy and Relevant in this world. Maybe not in certain clubs or schools, but God breathed life into you. In God’s eyes, you are meant to be – just as you are! {Renee Brooks}

Perhaps some people did not hear India Arie’s message – I Am Not My Hair. So for those who haven’t heard it. Take a listen. You might learn something.

finished-heart Renee

This is me below… Is My Hair Unprofessional or distracting or would you see past my hair?

Questions For The Reader

What Do You Think Her Mother Should Do?

Have You Faced A Similar Situation?

Is Faith Christian Academy Doing The Right Thing?

Are People Making Too Much Of A Big Deal About This?

Leave Your Comments Below.

Thanks For Reading, Commenting, and Subscribing!

Leave a Reply

