Your Words Have Power

words-have-power

Building An Empire With Your Words

I just finished reading Building An Empire With Your Words by Paul Jun. I came across the book while researching some information on self-development and writing. His website, motivated mastery, is filled with easy to read articles on self-awareness and motivation.

Building An Empire With Your Words is a 35 page book that is packed with insightful information. I love a writer that can say so much, with few words. Paul Jun’s writing is inspiring, to the point, and easy to understand. He uses beautiful quotes by well-known people, personal stories, and examples to speak his truth. He talks about the power of words and how they shape your life.

There Are No Coincidences

I just posted an |||article||| about the power of words yesterday. So it is no surprise to me that a chain of events would lead me to information that coincides with the same subject that I just posted about. When the elements of the universe line up, it is truly amazing. I love moments like that! I just had a simple thought, what should I post today? I went on about my business gathering information, reading, and researching like I usually do and then I “accidentally” clicked on one of the folders on my computer. I had completely forgotten that I even downloaded the book. I must say, there are no coincidences in life. I have always known that statement to be true, and me reading that book today is further confirmation.

The forward of the book is written by Jeff Goins, the author of Wrecked and You Are A Writer. I have followed Jeff Goins blog for a long while. It was no surprise to see his name in the book as well. He is passionate about writing and words, and I can see how Paul and Jeff are friends. Both are passionate about spreading information through the written word.

Moved To Tears

While reading Building An Empire With Your Words I was moved to tears. There were times when I felt that Paul was speaking directly to the artist in me; reminding me to never give up and that my words too, have influence. He even wrote about the book being a slap in the face (a wake-up call). It is no coincidence that I talked about inspiration smacking you in the face in my |||What Is Inspiration? ||| article yesterday. Coincidence? I think not!

I do believe in the power of words. I believe words can heal, help, comfort, inspire, and drive someone forward in a powerful way. He even mentions his motivation for writing was not for money, fame, or because of boredom. I agree, when I started publishing my books it was for the freedom of writing and because I could not “NOT” write the books. Sometimes, I must admit, my attention does get diverted. I would love to make money through writing. It’s what I want to do for a living. However, I agree that money should not be the main focus. It just kills the joy of writing when you worry about the money aspect of it.

I know that it’s hard out there. I know that we all need to make a living and survive, but as a wise teacher once told me,

“You have to honor your gifts and talents for the sake of honoring your gifts and talents.”

What I took from that saying was:

Your talents and gifts deserve expression.

There is no price that can be put on your unique gifts. Open your heart and express yourself. Whether it be through song or dance, art or writing, photography or big business, you have the right to express.

I want people to know that I bleed too, I doubt too, I lose faith sometimes too, but I can get better by taking responsibility for myself, my actions, my words, my thoughts, and my beliefs which ultimately create… my life.

Thank you for reading!

finished-heart Renee

I would love to hear from you!
Do words hurt?
How have someone’s words influenced you?
Have you inspired or hurt someone with your words?

 

Leave a Reply

