Freedom, The Heart Of An Artist, & My Newest Creation

The Su’Ma Character

Su’Ma is a boy with a lion’s heart whose passion is channeled through a blade.

How many of you have come face to face with your destiny? Su’Ma is that kind of character. When he comes face to face with his destiny nothing can stop him from fulfilling his purpose. He is the kind of character that says, “I don’t care about your rules, your codes of conduct, or how you have done things in the past – this is my life, I am nobody’s property, and I will protect my precious gift at all costs.

I know the men out there would definitely be able to relate to his character. Men have a burning desire to protect their family at all costs. It’s a survival mechanism that is imbedded deep in the hearts of all men. They are the protectors of the group.

Su’Ma is the kind of character that would say, “I have to stand up, do the right thing, and be a man regardless of what tradition, laws, and rules have taught me.”

He would stand up to his father and say, “You prepped me father, you helped me, you shaped me, but now I am growing into the man that you prepared me to be. You cannot hold me down with force, punishment, or ridicule.”

Ne’Ya, the other star of Journey Through Sattara, is Su’Ma’s reason for living. She has a huge purpose to fulfill. The women of the world would be able to relate to her character because she is a nurturer, she’s strong, and carries her tribe’s legacy on her back willingly. Together they reach into the center of the struggle and strife between their tribes and force them to choose; your love or your hatred. At the end end of the story only one survives.

Isn’t that what triumph is about? It’s about overcoming your personal demons. The ones that knock on the door of your brain and tell you to quit and to give up. The demons that whisper, “It’s too hard, it’s against the rules, no one will understand you.”

As A Writer

As a writer you have to know what you are writing for. I personally write for the freedom to be able to express myself in a world of repression, judgment, and constriction. I write to be free, to tap into the unlimited pool of knowledge, and to spread new ideas.

There’s a struggle going on in our world. It’s the struggle for power and money. There are senseless killings, greed, and calamity all over the world and I hate to be the bearer of bad news – We Are All A Part Of It. Simply because we are sitting back watching it happen within ourselves and doing absolutely nothing about it.

I hear the question all the time… how can there be world peace? The answer is dauntingly simple, but a lot of people are refusing to see the truth.

If Everyone Found Peace Within Themselves There Would Be World Peace

If Everyone Allowed Others To Simply Be Themselves There Would Be World Peace

If Everyone Didn’t Take Things So Personally There Would Be World Peace

If Peopled Didn’t Feel The Need To Control & Dominate There Would Be World Peace

Your Words Have Power

I am here to say that you don’t need a gun, knife, or bombs to kill people. People kill the human spirit with their words and actions every single day. We just have to be conscious of what we write about, blog about, post, and do to other people.

I can’t stop anyone from doing anything, but I can write in hopes that people will see the rawness and honesty in my books and perhaps change their perspective on things.

It doesn’t take that much. Just a few words, a post, a blog, a song, or a dance that comes straight from the heart. Something that you can’t hold in no matter how hard you’ve tried. For years I held in my passion, afraid of what others would say or think. Afraid of not being able to do things “correctly”. Yes, I admit. I went through my own personal hell with some of the choices that I made regarding following my heart’s desire, but in the end – just like in my books – love and passion always wins. The source that wrote the story of life had a beautiful concept in mind. Love always wins. Always.

The Reason For Writing Journey Through Sattara

Journey Through Sattara is a story about the Journey Through Life. It just happens to take place in a jungle with Ne’Ya and Su’Ma as the main characters. When you get a chance to read the book, picture each character as a part of yourself. It will then be easy to see what we struggle with as human beings, the demons from the past that haunt us, and the shame that we feel when our needs and dreams need to be heard.

Artistry, Life, and My Books are about standing up to the society that we live in and the demons that scare us to death. If you don’t like the rules, codes of conduct, or what you have experienced so far… It Is Your Destiny To Change It. That’s why you are here, that’s why you are reading this post, that’s why it is speaking to you in the way that it is.

We can change our own world one step at a time. Stand up for what you believe in. Let your voice be heard. Say no to things that you don’t prefer and hell yes to the things that you are passionate about.

In case anyone is wondering… that is the reason why I write!

Questions For The Reader

Who are some of the characters in your novels?
What ideas do you want them to provoke?
How did you make the character come alive?
What personal experiences did you draw from to create your characters or your art?

I would love to hear from you!

finished-heart Renee

Leave a Reply

